Unintelligent Content


Sign

Originally sited and captured by Cayobo on Flickr.

It isn’t confined to the web.  Unintelligent content is alive and well, and seems to be THRIVING. Everywhere.

Published in: on September 10, 2010 at 2:09 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://myindigolives.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/unintelligent-content/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So very true! You would think that they could use a spellchecker before they printed that out.

    • Sara, I re-read your comment, and thought about it for a moment. Sensible observation! That sign was not hand-lettered. If one could use MS Word, or even Notepad/ Wordpad, and knew how to output the results to a printer, then one would probably be skilled enough to use a spell-checker!

  2. I can’t even say with 100% certainty that I know what they were trying to communicate…

  3. Don’t forget that a language barrier could exist. Having lived in 3 different languages, so to speak (Tamil, Japanese, and English) I can say for sure that different languages can communicate the same idea in different ways and that makes creating signs in another language very difficult.

    • Point taken, Benny. However, I’ve seen examples of your writing: in your blog and in comment threads. I’ve read your articles with specialized technical content (Halo game tips?) as well as those using colloquial English. Such evidence of your perfect English usage, despite familiarity (probably fluency) in not two, but three languages, detracts from the validity of your statement.

      Seriously now, my intent wasn’t to ridicule erstwhile attempts at learning English by posting this. Hope you’re all settled in at school again, and I appreciate your visit!

  4. Thanks for finding my image interesting. It was taken in a laundry room at a resort in Key West, Fl. The housekeepers are from South of the border, (and we’re at mile marker 0), so you can imagine how “interesting” it is to me.

    I also spied this one: http://www.flickr.com/photos/cayobo/5170894698/ in the engineering dept.

    • Cayobo, I don’t know how I missed this! Thank you for leaving that second URL, I just had a look. It was excellent!

      I used to live in South Florida. I even spent one very happy weekend in Marathon Key with my now-deceased husband. So I remember the mile markers. My husband was from Florida, used to go fishing all the time in the Keys. From your photos, it looked like you might have gone fishing a few times too.


Comments welcomed! Less enthusiastic about spam.

